Board Members

UNHS' Board of Directors is composed entirely  of community members that  bring strong organizational, financial, business, health, and governmental backgrounds to the board.  

Jamie HarveyAneth- Board Chair

Melinda FarleyVice Chair - Teec Nos Pos


Gloria BegayeSecretary-  Blanding






Wilfred Jones  - Treasurer- Red Mesa
Harriet LansingAneth
Robert Whitehorse - Aneth

Cassandra Beletso, Mexican Water
Edward TapahaMember - Red Mesa

Kenneth MilesMember - Navajo Mountain

Lorrissa JacksonMember- Oljato



Utah Navajo Health System, Inc., started in 2000 as a single service corporation providing medical and dental care needs for rural communities in southeastern Utah.  In September 1999, the Navajo Utah Commission recommended that the local community manage the health care services in the area.  Supporting Resolutions were received from the Navajo Utah Commission, the Navajo Division of Health, the Navajo Area Indian Health Service, Utah Navajo Trust Fund, Dineh Committee, Navajo Nation Council Delegates, the San Juan County Commission, and the Navajo Nation President and Vice-President's office. Resolutions were also received by all three local Navajo Chapters; Aneth, Oljato, and Navajo Mountain.  

UNHS is a 501(c)(3) private not-for-profit corporation registered in the state of Utah that functions under the direction of a 100 percent Navajo Board of Directors.  Given the rural location and the medically underserved population we serve, UNHS is proud to be a federally designated 330(e) Community Health Center system.  

Financial viability and operating efficiency are achieved by our state-of-the art electronic medical records system, our dedicated billing staff, providers, and supporting staff.  Our duty of fiscal responsibility to the community obligates us to aggressively pursue all private and governmental grant funding.  A full 25% of our funding comes from grants.  By procuring funds that would otherwise go elsewhere, we are able to expand services while supporting the local economy and creating jobs.  We receive no county or state tax funding.  

Though we are not part of the IHS (Indian Health Services), we maintain a working relationship with the IHS via a contract created under P.L. 93-638, Title V.  Utah Navajo Health System has also received the support of The Utah Navajo Trust Fund (UNTF).  The trust fund was created under  Utah Code,  Title 63, Chapter 88 to account for various revenues received by the State, which represents a portion of the oil royalties from the Aneth Extension of the Navajo Indian Reservation.   Both entities have helped make quality health care a reality for the residents of the northern strip of the Navajo Nation and southeastern Utah.

Quality of Care and Safety

Utah Navajo Health System is Joint Commission Accredited

About the Joint Commission:
The Joint Commission (JC) is an independent, not-for-profit organization charged with establishing standards and accrediting health care organizations. The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 20,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, not-for-profit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation's oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in healthcare.
To earn and maintain The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval, an organization must undergo an on-site survey by a Joint Commission survey team at least every three years.  We are proud to be Joint Commission compliant and work hard to maintain our accreditation.
UNHS' last accreditation survey was in August, 2013. The next JC survey will be unannounced and take place between January 1 and April 2016. 
The JC's standards address the organization's level of performance in key functional areas, such as patient rights, patient treatment, and infection control. The standards focus not simply on what the organization has, but what it does. 
The JC Environment of Care standards are pivotal for the ongoing operation and improvement efforts in making UNHS a safe and healthy environment for patients, visitors, staff and employees. All work must be conducted in such a manner as to ensure your safety and the safety of others around you, and to protect the environment.  
For more information on Joint Commission standards, click the link below.


Joint Commission Accredited

View 2015 patient count by location UHS in a full screen map


For more information on what a Community Health Center is, please visit the National Association of Community Health Centers website.

More information can also be found at, Utah's Association of Community Health Centers.

Provider Bios

Provider Bios Gallery

Our Staff :

We continually strive to improve the quality of health care at our clinics.  We currently employ over 250 Full-time and Part-time employees.

Please feel free to contact any of the following staff if you have any  concerns, questions, or suggestions.  

Thank you!

Michael Jensen-Chief Executive Officer
L. Val Jones, M.D.-Chief Medical Officer
A. Byron Clarke, -Chief Operations Officer
Chad Moses, R.Ph.D.-Director Pharmacy
Yikanee Sampson, RN
Director of Clinical Nurses- MCC
William Harrison
Chief Financial Officer
Brian Olsen, D.D.S. -Director of Dentistry
Nick Fox, RN-Director of Clinical Nurses- BFP, NM, MV
Shawn Begay,
Clinic Manager, Monument Valley & Navajo Mountain
Anthony Torres
Director of Information Technology
Earl Lee
Public Relations, E.M.

More of our Providers


San Juan County, Utah


Land area (square miles)                  7,820

Persons per square mile                   1.9

Total Population 2010                       14,746

Unemployment rate (1/01/2011)        16%

Navajo Nation Unemployment rate     42%

Persons below poverty level              28.3% 

Median Household Income (Yr)          $28,137

American Indian 50.4%
Caucasian 45.8% 
Hispanic  4.4%
African American 0.2%
Asian   0.3%
Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 0.1%
Reporting Two or More Races 2.3%

Sources:  EDCUtah, Utah Dept of Workforce Services, Navajo Nation Division of Economic Development, US Census

San Juan County is bordered by more counties than any other county in the United States, at 14.

National Protected Areas:
Hovenweep National Monument (part)
Natural Bridges National Monument
Monument Valley Tribal Park
Rainbow Bridge National Monument
Canyonlands National Park (part)
Glen Canyon National Recreation Area (part)
Manti-La Sal National Forest (part)
Goose Necks State Park
Grand Gulch Primitive Area
  Site Map | Printable View | © 2008 - 2016 Utah Navajo Health System, Inc. | Powered by mojoPortal | HTML 5 | CSS | Design by snop